To Give is to Receive

Since I began writing content for Laurel Hill a few months ago, a whole new world has opened up to me.  Today, I celebrate all the “firsts” I have experienced in just a short time.

32_ fixed circulars symonie rose cubics
Symfonie Rose Circular Needles

For the first time, I realized that selecting my knitting needles is just as important to each project as picking out the perfect yarn.  My favorite new Laurel Hill circular needle is pointy, smooth, warm to the touch and just delightful to use – it has made a huge difference in my knitting experience, and my knitting even looks better.  I can’t wait to hold them in my hands each evening after the work day is over. Although I have not yet learned to crochet, I have heard the very same comments about Laurel Hill’s vast array of hooks.

il_170x135.798875711_5mye
I recently had the pleasure of interviewing the lovely Ruth Tillman

For the first time, everyone I speak with, everyone I interview, everyone I call for information is HAPPY.  I cannot express how fabulous it is to speak with individuals who do not whine, do not complain and do not say negative things about other people – from the Laurel Hill team to the extraordinary knitters and crocheters I have come to know, these are people who are grateful, sweet and just plain nice.  How refreshing is that?

Unknown
Christine Fabiani, founder of Knots of Love

For the first time, I knitted for a non-profit organization that called me to say “thank you.” After creating my first NICU baby blanket to donate to Knots of Love, Laurel Hill’s preferred non-profit organization, the president herself, Christine Fabiani, called to welcome me to the “Knots of Love” family.  What’s more, she shared that the blankie I made was donated to a preemie baby in Washington D.C., making me feel even more connected to the cause.

Unknown-1
An example of a knitted blankie for a NICU baby

As if that weren’t enough, today I received a package in the mail with a thank you note, more patterns and a special Knots of Love tape measure that I will treasure.

Yes, it has been an exciting few months, a time of many firsts and an opportunity to learn and grow, meeting a host of wonderful people along the way.  I am really looking forward to what 2016 will bring!

Happy Yarn Crafting!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

