Knitted Acts of Kindness: Junie Moon Shares Her Knitted Washcloth Pattern

Junie Moon was kind enough to let me share this story with you. I stumbled on it doing a Flickr search for knitted washcloths. June loves to knit for a good cause and we are pleased to support her work. You can see all of June’s projects via her blog and Flickr site.

My husband has us on a “watch all the James Bond movies in order” project. So, I am knitting a cotton washcloth per movie (I’m averaging 2 cloths per ball of yarn). The results are great for giving to the domestic violence shelter (psychologically semi-offsets the violence in the movies) or any other place where they will be useful. They work great in little kits: a washcloth, pretty bar of soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, etc.

I use size 7 needles but bind off using size 9. The yarn brand is Sugar’n Cream. Here is the pattern:

CO 40
Row 1: K
Row 2: K
Row 3: K3, P1, *K1, P1″ until end of row but K the last 2 stitches
Row 4: K3, P1, *K1, P1″ until end of row but K the last 2 stitches

Repeat rows 1-4 until the washcloth is the size you want, end with row 2, and then BO.

The washcloths in the photo went towards a couple of charitable endeavors. One was for Kelli Donley’s project to help an orphanage in Mozambique (http://www.africankelli.com/2007/04/17/giddyup/). We were tasked to fill zip-loc bags from a list of needed items. I made 10 packets and in each one went a washcloth I’d knitted along with soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, etc. and I added little toys to each. My little zip-loc baggies were chock full of as many goodies as I could squeeze in there.

In addition to the orphanage project, I knitted some of the washcloths for domestic violence shelters as part of my support for Loves Many Cloths; they have a presence on Ravelry and host a Yahoo! group.

Yet another one of my projects is the Junie Moon Bandage Brigade where we knit or crochet (individual choice) for Leprosy victims. This is something I host in January (although I still collect them—just received two packages recently). When they’re all collected, I forward them to the folks who make sure Veteran’s groups get them for hand-delivering to leprosy patients in Vietnam or Africa.

5 thoughts on “Knitted Acts of Kindness: Junie Moon Shares Her Knitted Washcloth Pattern

  1. It’s a good thing I’m planning on staying home today as my head has grown with your praise and I don’t think I can squeeze through my front door now. Thank you so much for sharing my projects. Doing something kind, even if it’s a little thing, can make a huge difference in the world.

  2. mary

    Hi Junie,

    I have tons of organic cotton that I’d like to knit up for bandages and or cloths. Please send me the info on when to send and of, course, any specifications.

    Many Thanks and kudos for all your dedication,
    Mary

  3. Pingback: Knitted Acts of Kindness: Junie Moon’s Bandage Brigade « Laurel Hill Knitting Needles & Crochet Hooks

  4. Pingback: Bookmarks about Pattern

Leave a Reply

